Thursday, December 31, 2015

Guest Post: Natalie Scott

Voicing the Unvoiceable
Guest post by poet Natalie Scott


Is it really possible to say something new about the Titanic disaster?


Quite simply, the answer to this is a resounding no. So many books have been published about Titanic, including novels, memoirs, autobiographies and poems, that it is safe to say the story is well and truly covered. It is so well-known as a topic that it is very difficult to talk or write about it and avoid puns and cliché. Such a titanic task (*sigh*) might bring a sinking feeling (*groan*) to many a writer but I relished the challenge: to say something new about Titanic in the way the story is told.

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Review: Thicker Than Water by Kelly (Fiore) Stultz


MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! YAAY

Title: Thicker Than Water
Author: Kelly (Fiore) Stultz
Publication Date: January 5, 2016
add to goodreads
Cecelia Price killed her brother. At least, that’s what the police and the district attorney are saying. And although Cecelia is now locked up and forced into treatment, she knows the real story is much more complicated. Cyrus wasn’t always the drug-addled monster he’d become. He was a successful athlete, but when an injury forced him off the soccer field and onto pain medication, his life became a blur of anger, addiction, and violence. All CeCe could do was stand by and watch, until she realized one effective way to take away her brother’s drugs while earning the money she needed for college: selling the pills.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Click Play Fest!

 Hi! Last November 22 I went to Click Play Fest and It is one of the best days of my life. You might be wondering what is Click Play Fest. It is a social media festival, it gave us opportunity to see live or even meet Ryan Higa, Ki Hong Lee, David Choi, Cimorelli and Sam and Colby!


Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Review: What's Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass

Title: What's Broken Between Us
Author: Alexis Bass
Publication Date: December 29, 2015

add to goodreads

Alexis Bass’s heartbreakingly beautiful second novel is a tale of love, loss, and learning to forgive, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider's The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart's brother got behind the wheel drunk and killed his best friend. Today, he's coming home from prison.

Amanda's been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother's recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he's a monster. Still, she loves him. It's her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again--whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

Monday, December 7, 2015

Review: The Land of Forgotten Girls by Erin Entrada Kelly

Title: The Land of Forgotten Girls
Author: Erin Entrada Kelly
Publication Date: March 1, 2016
add to goodreads


Two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better. For readers of Cynthia Kadohata and Rita Williams-Garcia and anyone searching for the true meaning of family.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died and her father moved Sol and her

 

Template by BloggerCandy.com